Where were you?

I was in college, in my junior year.  I think I had two early classes, with an hour break between them.  When my first class ended, I headed to the campus center to play pool.  A few minutes in, and the TVs are blaring and there’s a large crowd watching TV.  I took a look, stopped playing, and watched the rather horrifying events.

Classes were cancelled shortly thereafter and I spent time following up on the news.

I was lucky not to lose anyone I knew.  A relative worked within sight of the twin towers, and later told of all the panic, dust and debris, and of the kindness of shopkeepers who let those fleeing the area get a brief respite from the dusty air outside.

Although I was too young to remember it, this feels like the Space Shuttle Challenger disaster.

Where were you?

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

